Visual Studio awesomeness

I should have switched to VS sooner. I like having multiple scripts docked next to each other – I know Eclipse can also do this, but it seems easier to dock the windows in VS. It easily uses the arcpy Intellisense, and the default code formatting is very nice.

One complaint though, is having to set a startup file per project if I want to run it using the Start button on the standard toolbar. Since all my scripts are standalone, I’ve been right clicking in the script, and selecting Start without Debugging to actually run the script. Still, it’s no worse than right clicking > Python Run in Eclipse.

Overall, the transition was painless, and I’m conforming to the standards we have set within our unit. Not a moment too soon, since Microsoft just did something totally out of character.

3 thoughts on “Visual Studio awesomeness

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.