ArcMap Woes Part 1: Random fail in ArcMap works in ArcCatalog

Today I tried to run a script in ArcMap. Nothing fancy, just exporting data driven pages as jpegs in a for loop (basically taken straight from the help docs 2 years ago, and used in endless variations since):

Of course, ArcMap crashes. No, not crashes, because then it would pop up the ESRI “Send Error Report” dialog box. It simply terminates. I run the same script in ArcCatalog and it works perfectly. Note that I have run scripts like this many times before in ArcMap without any issues. It’s almost as if ArcMap gets tired of certain things, and refuses to cooperate. I’m pretty sure if I try this script in ArcMap again in a few days time it will be fine.

2 thoughts on “ArcMap Woes Part 1: Random fail in ArcMap works in ArcCatalog

  1. I’m just glad to see that I am not going mad and that these quirks happen to other people too. I can’t help but think of a mid-eithties song by the Police : Ghost in the Machine…but I digress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

