Migrating from Eclipse to Visual Studio

Microsoft has released the final version of Python Tools for Visual Studio. I’ve mentioned my love-hate relationship with Eclipse before, as in, I used to hate it, but I love it now. PyDev has only ever been good to me, and I’m grateful that as I was teaching myself Python (and by extension, how to love programming) that it was available as a part of that process. For that reason, I will keep Eclipse around.

However, my unit is fully tied in with Microsoft, and I am the only member of the team currently not using Visual Studio. I have Premium 2012 installed, from when I was fiddling around in C#, and I kept it with the intention of using it as my IDE for JavaScript (which I’m still trying to phase into), but now I’m finally ready to make the switch. I thought I would document my process here in case anyone else wants to migrate from Eclipse to Visual Studio.

My files in Eclipse are organised into PyDev Projects, similar to the way my OneNote is structured. Each unit has a PyDev Project, each Project has separate packages for a company project, and each package has various modules which are all standalone scripts. I don’t link my scripts at all, so this method of organising is purely to keep everything together in logical fashion.

I will need to replicate this structure inside Visual Studio. After a false start (creating a solution file for one PyDev Project, then trying to add another PyDev Project to it), it appears that the best method would be to relate the structures as follows:

  • Solution = Eclipse Workspace
  • Python Application = PyDev Project

All I ended up doing was make a copy of my folder structure into the folder I am using as my VS workspace. I then created a new Project from Existing Python code and set the source folder to the workspace folder.

3 thoughts on “Migrating from Eclipse to Visual Studio

Leave a Reply

