Inserting spaces into CamelCase

I have some trauma related to regular expressions from my university days. Yes, they are super useful. Do I enjoy using them? Does anyone?

Image result for regular expressions meme

I routinely modify and create new instances of the AMIS GIS data model. Depending on the client and the type of assets they have, there can be 4 feature datasets, containing about 5 feature classes each, or 9 feature datasets with up to 50 feature classes spread across the database.

Inevitably at some point in the process of losing my mind, I will forget that the alias is lost when creating a new feature class, or randomly copying it over or whatever. I then end up with dozens of feature classes with really ugly looking abbreviated layer names in CamelCase. So for posterity, and so that I will never ever forget this ridiculously easy thing again:

One thing I’ve omitted from the script is that I usually store the feature class names with a prefix, e.g. fc_name = wps_WaterPumpStation. In this case, I would use split on the feature class name before passing it to the alterFCAlias function i.e. fc_name.split("_")[1].

Link for mobile users is here.

Aaaaaaand I’ve just realised that I’ve forgotten this basic task so many times over the last few years that I actually already have a blog post about it, except for some reason I was updating the layer names in ArcMap every time instead of resetting it once on the feature classes themselves.

Image result for what were you thinking meme

