Filter a pandas data frame using a mask

After using pandas for quite some time now, I started to question if I was really using it effectively. After two MOOCs in R about 2 or 3 years ago, I realised that because my GIS work wasn’t in analysis, I would not be able to use it properly.

Similarly, because pandas is essentially the R of Python, I thought I wouldn’t be able to use all the features it had to offer. As it stands, I’m still hovering around in the data munging side of pandas.

I used a pandas mask to filter a spreadsheet (or csv) based on some value. I originally used this to filter out which feature classes need to be created from a list of dozens of templates, but I’ve also used it to filter transactions in the money tracking app I made for my household.

Leave a Reply

