Accessing metadata using ArcPy, Python, and now hermes!

Two weeks ago, a colleague asked me to write a script to extract some metadata values from dozens of feature classes in a gdb, and write it out to a spreadsheet along with some other descriptive properties. I fiddled around with the metadata using Python’s xml package, and managed to come up with a script for her.

So it was to my immense delight that this post popped up in my feedly on Friday. I immediately starred hermes on GitHub, and maybe this will be the first project I can actually contribute to, and not only because of the Futurama reference.

Leave a Reply

