ArcMap Woes Part 4: Permissions errors

Sometimes when I’m in ArcMap, I can’t start an edit session. Normally, I restart ArcMap and everything is fine.

Recently, for about a week, I could not edit inside any file gdb, or create new feature classes inside of an existing one or a new one. The gdb was locking itself when I was in an mxd that was accessing the feature classes inside it.

No other application was accessing it at the time i.e. ArcCatalog was closed. I would reboot the VM, open a blank map document, drag in the feature class I wanted, then try to edit that feature class, or create a new feature class in that gdb. No such luck.

I mentioned that this happened for about a week. After that, everything was fine again. I’m not sure why. Windows Updates have broken file gdbs before, but I don’t think it was that.

I think that IT changed some group policies and that affected my host where the data is stored, which in turn affected the VM. I know that sounds crazy, but I’m used to accepting crazy by now when it comes to Arc. It’s still not enough to make me go to QGIS though.

Leave a Reply

