GitHub: Deciding what to do with it

I decided a while ago that it would be a good idea to share more of my code with others, besides copying and pasting it into this blog. I have linked to a few scripts stored on my OneDrive, especially since I don’t know what to do with all that space, but it doesn’t feel right to keep it there either.

This brought me back to an idea that has been swirling around in my mind over the last few years: GitHub. Since I code alone, I never saw the need for source control and versioning. My workspace is stored on my OneDrive, so my code is always in sync.

I know that this approach is incorrect. I know that if the team were to expand, or if I switched to programming full-time instead of the mish-mash of stuff I do now, I would need to know how to use it.

I logged back into my GitHub account, installed the Windows app, and then stared at it for a bit. How am I supposed to convert my workspace structure into here? After some Googling, reddit gave me the answer.

I’m going to replicate my project folder structure using repositories, and use the local clone of that as my Visual Studio workspace. I will reproduce the scripts in my General folder as Gists, as they are general purpose snippets that don’t need to be grouped together anyway.

3 thoughts on “GitHub: Deciding what to do with it

Leave a Reply

