GEOINT MOOC: Week 1

I’ve been wanting to take some sort of course from Penn State forever. Although I would love to follow their Masters programme, sadly the kind of money needed for it is a bit out of my price range. By that, I mean it is a lot out of my price range.

So it was with great excitement that I started the Geospatial Intelligence & the Geospatial Revolution MOOC last week. I was a bit put off when I saw that using the discussion forums would be part of the mark for the course, as the whole appeal of online learning for me is not interacting with anyone in any way at all.

Once I went through the reading material (which I quite liked – I prefer studying giant blocks of text than watching videos), I found that I did have enough to say to write two comments in the discussion forums as requested. In fact, I could relate the contents of that week’s material to examples of work I’ve done.

While I’m still not crazy about the fact that I have to discuss my findings, I am finding the MOOC enjoyable so far. This may be the last MOOC I complete properly for a while, since something else has come up, so I do intend to make the most of it.

2 thoughts on “GEOINT MOOC: Week 1

Leave a Reply

