ESRI MOOC Week 2

This week we started the first “exercise” in spatial analysis. It was quite basic in terms of GIS analysis. What I found interesting was the availability of tools and functionality in ArcGIS Online. I remember when it launched and it was just a barebones web app that could show your map and layers you’ve uploaded…and that’s about it. Now I can see how “non-GIS” people could be “doing” GIS through this interface without even realising it.

Seeing as I am part of the Enterprise GIS team, this intrigues me and worries me at the same time. We are looking to integrate more with ArcGIS Online now that our GIS system architecture is being “officially” put into place, so my main reason for sticking with this MOOC is to learn more about the capabilities of AGO.

2 thoughts on “ESRI MOOC Week 2

Leave a Reply

